2024 Security Technician of the Year Award Winners Announced

May 16, 2024

DALLAS—The Foundation for Advancing Security Technology (FAST) announced the winners (see list below) of the 2024 Security Technician of the Year Awards, now in its second year. This prestigious initiative highlights the critical role that security technicians play within the industry, celebrating their excellence in the meticulous design, installation and maintenance of security systems that safeguard our communities.

“The Security Technician of the Year Awards shines a spotlight on the incredible talent within our industry,” said Ken Kocher, president of Force Security Solutions and treasurer of the FAST Board of Directors. “These awards are a way to recognize the outstanding work of security technicians and to showcase the significant impact they have on all of us.”

Security technicians are the unsung heroes on the front lines of safety, whose dedication and expertise help ensure that our homes, workplaces and national infrastructure remain secure. Recognizing these professionals is not just an acknowledgment of their tireless efforts but a testament to their pivotal role in advancing the security industry.

This year’s winners are standout examples of commitment and leadership, who have each demonstrated exceptional customer service, technological proficiency and professional integrity.


  • Calvin Sprague, technician III, Stealth Monitoring
  • James Brevard, master installation technician and Trainer, ADT
  • Chris Gordon, level 4 security technician, SAGE Integration
  • Peter Gagne, technician III, Stealth Monitoring
  • Vanna Phan, electrical technician 4, M.C. Dean
  • Jeff Lane, fire division PM, Down East Protection Systems
  • Kyle Ackerman, installation technician, Everon
  • Anthony Jeffries, electrical technician 3, M.C. Dean
  • Harry Hoyte, senior service technician, Grid Squared Systems
  • Aaron Welch, head of hardware, Nexkey

As an initiative of the Security Industry Association (SIA) and the Electronic Security Association (ESA), FAST is proud to bring the industry together to celebrate this fantastic talent. We would also like to invite the security industry to celebrate these achievements at the Security Technician of the Year awards ceremony, which will be held during the closing ceremony of the Electronic Security Expo (ESX). FAST looks forward to honoring these exceptional individuals who have not only excelled in their roles but have also contributed to raising industry standards. Their insights on industry challenges and professional advice, reflecting their deep understanding and passion for the field, will also be featured in upcoming FAST communications.

The Foundation for Advancing Security Talent is dedicated to connecting passionate, innovative professionals with new opportunities in the electronic security and life safety industry. Through partnerships with leading associations such as ESA and SIA, FAST raises awareness about career advancement opportunities within the fast-paced technology industry that serves to keep people, places and property safe.